12 years of Girl Scout memories


Submitted by Elisa Garner

I was a Girl Scout until my freshman year in high school when I had no other choice but to leave the program because there where no longer any troops for me to participate in. That summer I was supposed to go up to Lazy Acres in Colorado and was unable due to illness. I was about to start my leader years when my leader told me they decided to disband. My heart was broken because I have always loved and respected that program. However almost 8 years after having to leave one of the most influential programs I have ever had the honor of participating in, to this day I keep the promise that I made every day for 12 years, and I live by the Girl Scout Law. Happy 100 years GSUSA. Here’s to 100 more!

This story was submitted via the Share Your Stories form. You can share your Girl Scout moments too.

This entry was posted in 100th Anniversary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

