Because I was a Girl Scout I learned to love one another and love nature


Submitted by Linda Hoover

Because I was a Girl Scout … I learned to love one another and have a true love of nature. Girl Scouts has done so much for me and my daughter it is out of this world!!!! I have grown up as a Girl Scout, I was a Girl Scout as a child for many years, in my 20s I worked for Girl Scouts in their outreach program as a leader, and when my daughter became a kindergartener I became a Leader for her troop. I have learned many types of skills around public relations, communication, accounting and budgeting as well. I also enjoy working at the fairs with council and getting the word out for Girl Scouts and getting more people involved. Girls Scouts has made it possible for me as a single mother and a preschool teacher to be able to afford to give my daughter and myself an awesome Girl Scout experience statewide! I am so thankful that Girl Scouts is such a hudge part of our lives. We would not be who we are today without the support of Girl Scouts! It has empowered myself (as a child and adult) and my daughter too! It’s time to celebrate the year of the GIRL!

In honor of the 100th Anniversary of Girl Scouting we’re gathering as many Because I was a Girl Scout … stories as possible. Submit your’s here.

This entry was posted in Because I Was a Girl Scout ..., parents, volunteers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

