Gold Award recipient gives thanks to supporters


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Submitted by Angela Natrasevschi
Fort Collins

As graduation approaches I have a lot to be thankful for. I would like to thank each and every one of you who have helped me grow and achieve my goals. Thank you for keeping me in your thoughts and prayers, for sending your good thoughts my way. I appreciate all you have done for me. To my teachers, advisors and Girl Scout community, thank you for shaping me into the strong resourceful leader I am always striving to be. My mom always says, “It takes a village to raise a child.” Thank you for being my village.

Now, I am in my home stretch of high school. It is turning out to be a beautiful year. The stress at times has been nonstop but I wouldn’t change it. I found out yesterday I received the Daniels Fund Scholarship* combined with my other scholarships from: Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship, Nassp/Herff Jones Principal’s Leadership Scholarship, 2012 Buick Achievers Scholarship, Brian Ball Memorial Scholarship will pay for college. I also received Veterans of Foreign War Scout of the Year Award for Colorado, The Prudential Spirit of Community Award, President’s Volunteer Service Award, and the Soroptimist Violet Richardson Award. I am so happy to announce that I am going to Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York. I will study fine arts and teaching. I never imagined I would have college paid for before graduation, but my mom did. She told me I could do it and put her faith in me and now I am so happy!

Now I would like to do a flashback so you know my past year. I knew it was going to be my dream year after I finished summer at Pratt in Brooklyn. Summer school motivated me to work hard and dream big. My mother told me if I worked hard and finished I would make it back to Pratt. I listened and worked harder than I ever imagined and finished my Girl Scout Gold Award. My Gold Award project is called “Fighting Meth” you can view it online at:
http://www.dosomething.org/project/fighting-meth

Starting and finishing my Girl Scout Gold Award project was the smartest thing I ever did. It has created so many opportunities for me. My Gold Award service project has helped me become the leader I am today. It has also enabled me to help over 32,000 people with knowledge about methamphetamines.

In the past month, my family and I have had many sleepless nights. I’ve had interviews for scholarships, schools and summer jobs. I started to get scholarships, admissions and then the hard part denied admission to Yale. Throughout the whole ordeal I knew it would work out. I knew I would end up at Pratt. I think my mother did too, because she turned in all my scholarship acceptance forms to Pratt. I didn’t know that until today.

Last week has been the hardest week for my family. We knew this week was when we found out about the Daniels Fund Scholarship. My mom has been there every step of the way though the good and bad. On Friday (April 20) we found out the winners were announced on the news and would be notified by mail. Saturday morning (April 21) was the longest on record. My mom and I camped out in our camping chairs next to the mailbox waiting for the mail lady to deliver my news. We prayed and hoped and prayed again that it would be there for me.

The mail was late and we started to worry but just then, I saw the truck coming down the street. Just then, I called my dad to come film the event. My mom wanted the moment captured. Then the post lady pulled up and mom asked if she had any packages for us. She said not today. Then my mom asked if she could have that large white envelope in the mail truck. She told the mail lady it would say Daniels Fund in the left hand corner in blue writing and be address to me. The post lady picked it out of the truck read it and handed it to me. I still don’t know how my mom does that. She has a way of seeing something in her head and just knowing. The moment I received my Daniels Fund Scholarship is something I will never forget; it is my future, my education, my opportunities and my life’s dream. I am going to New York! I’ve loved New York ever since I went with Girl Scouts in the 6th grade.

In the next month I will finish at Fort Collins High School and have some events coming up for all who wish to attend. I made it into Battle of the Bands representing Fort Collins High School. Battle of the Bands will be on Sunday May 13th in Old Town Square, Fort Collins at 12 noon. I will also be class speaker at graduation on May 26th at Moby Gym in Fort Collins at 5:30. This is when my mom will start crying, I know it.

Girl Scouts has changed my life. It has made me the strong leader I am today. It has given me, my dream future in New York attending college and will give me the opportunity to earn a college degree through nominating me for the Daniels Fund Scholarship. Once again I would like to THANK Girl Scouts of Colorado for believing in me and supporting me. Thank You to my Girl Scout community, you have all played your role in helping me grow into the leader I am today. I will never forget, I will always pay it forward, give back to my community and volunteer.

Sincerely,

Angela Natrasevschi

Fort Collins, CO Troop 70276

*The Daniels Scholarship is not “full ride,” but is supplemental to all other financial aid resources available to the student. After other financial aid resources have been applied, the Daniels Scholarship covers all required tuition and fees, room and board, books and supplies and a variety of other miscellaneous expenses. Students also receive a laptop computer and a printer. Read more about the Daniels Fund and Scholarship and the  Colorado Girl Scouts who got to the finalist round of this process this year.

This entry was posted in Girl Scouts in Action, girls, Highest Awards, parents and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gold Award recipient gives thanks to supporters

  1. Linda Robinson says:

    Angela, All of us on the Gold Award committee were very impressed with your Gold Award project and had faith in you that your dreams would be realized. Congratulations and good luck at Pratt. Don’t forget to enjoy yourself, you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

