Kailyn Faye Witonsky, “A Rainbow After Rain”


Kailyn Faye Witonsky

Kailyn Faye Witonsky
Littleton
Arapahoe High School
“A Rainbow After Rain”

During my sophomore year, two of my classmates committed suicide. For my Gold Award, I wanted to draw attention to suicide prevention. After becoming educated in a suicide prevention program known as, “SafeTalk,” I approached my school with the idea of placing the suicide hotline number on the back of our student identification cards. I also coordinated and ran a suicide Q&A session at my high school. Other school districts and high schools have indicated they want a suicide hotline number on their student identification cards. Suicide prevention and awareness will continue to be a goal of mine.



Click here to make a donation to Girl Scouts of Colorado in her honor

This entry was posted in Gold Award honorees and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

