Sharing my Girl Scout memories


I am Marty Allison from Longmont.  I was a Girl Scout as a girl – have two Daisy flowers on my Brownie Pin! I have a picture of me at an Intermediate Girl Scout Week birthday party! For the past 36 years I have had the most fun being a Girl Scout! I have done most every thing from being a Girl Scout Brownie Leader to Day Camp Director to VP on the Girl Scouts Mountain Prairie Council Board of Directors. I am currently a member of the Membership Connection Committee that links the membership of Girl Scouts of Colorado to the Board of Directors. My most memorable Girl Scout experience was going to the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts (WAGGGS) World Center, Pax Lodge, for the “Glimpse of the Past” adult event. We followed the footsteps of Robert Baden-Powell (B-P) as he began the Boy Scouts, and then learned how the girls crashed the big parade in front of the Crystal Palace in London and began the Girl Guide and Girl Scout Movement. I have been most impressed with B-P, his wife Olave, and Girl Scouts’ founder, Juliette Low, as they opened up marvelous opportunities for girls. They were pilgrims to a new way of life for girls and light years ahead of their times. This experience and many more like it have lead me into the history of the Girl Scout movement and wanting to share it with others. So now I am chair of the 100th History Committee for the 100th Anniversary Celebration this year. I love providing historical and international programs to the girls and helping them catch the vision of Juliette Low that girls can do anything! It has been a great pleasure to dream about having a Girl Scouts 100th Anniversary exhibit at the Longmont Museum, help with the planning of the important stories to tell, experience setting up an exhibit and working with the marvelous professional staff at the museum, experiencing the thrill of the opening reception, and then continuing to be a docent at times for visitors. Being able to see this dream become a reality has been awesome! I participated in a wonderful Girl Scouts 75th Anniversary and now the amazing 100th Anniversary! I wonder how many more BIG ones I will experience? I do love Girl Scouting for all it does for girls AND adults!

This entry was posted in 100th Anniversary, Alumnae, Because I Was a Girl Scout ..., volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sharing my Girl Scout memories

  1. #1kid says:

    I am a Cadette and it is fun.
    i am no where near Longmont but GS is fun anywhere!
    And so many girls have joined! GSCT alone, still a lot of girls!
    It is a great way to get involved with the community and other girls.
    Thank you for sharing about your journy in Girl Scouts!
    Happy Birthday, Girl Scouts!

Leave a Reply

